Nowadays, more and more older people who are looking for work have to compete with younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are some possible solutions?

Over the last few years, the job market has become increasingly competitive all over the world. Therefore, senior employees are forced to compete with the juniors for job opportunities. This essay will discuss the issues caused by this trend and provide some reasonable solutions to help overcome it. To begin with, there are two main problems associated with such a competitive workforce. One of them is the rising incidents of psychological disorders among older people. To illustrate, since senior employees have to struggle to find a decent job opportunity, they are usually under stress in order to secure their basic necessities. For instance, it has been proven that work stress is the main cause of depression and dementia in the world's older population. Another possible issue caused by competition between senior and junior employees is that older people tend to refuse to pass down their experience to the younger ones. This is because they want to show off their superiority by having greater experience. Indeed, this adversely affects the labour market as a whole. When it comes to how to mitigate this problem, it is the responsibility of both governments and business owners. Only when the state’s authorities put strict rules to ensure the balance between older and younger employees in the job market will it be possible to decrease the older’s burden of stress. Furthermore, employers should give equal opportunities to both the seniors and the juniors. Consequently, they will benefit from not only the elders’ experience but also the juniors’ fresh knowledge. In conclusion, older people nowadays encounter huge difficulties to look for a decent job which may affect their psychological health and the whole labour market. However, by providing equal chances to the seniors and the juniors, the government and businessmen can tackle this issue. 298