Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

Over the last few years, some people have argued that certain criminals should do unpaid community services rather than being put in jails. In my opinion, I completely agree with this notion and in this essay I will support my view with valid arguments and examples. To begin with, the main reason why I consider being jailed is not suitable for all culprits is that the sentence should depend on the type of the crime. For example, petty criminal activities such as breaking traffic rules or reckless driving are not as serious as premeditated murder or kidnapping. Consequently, lawbreakers who commit minor offences should be made to do unpaid community services which will benefit the whole society. In contrast, putting those who commit heinous crimes behind bars is crucial for the safety of other citizens. Furthermore, I believe that engaging in unpaid community work, for those who commit mild misdeeds, has fruitful impacts on them. This is because they will be rehabilitated and learn how to contribute to their society. Therefore, it has been proven that criminals who are made to do community work rarely recommit any crimes. Seldom does this occur if they are put in jails. Additionally, during participating in unpaid community services, they will have the opportunity to learn new skills which may help them earn their living instead of recommitting offences. In conclusion, according to the seriousness of the crime, I strongly believe that certain offenders should do unpaid community work instead of being jailed. Indeed, this will have immense positive impacts on them and their behaviour.