There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

Growing trends of, having pupils assessed via examinations, instead of having a continuous assessment, has been observed lately. The most prolific benefits of having exams as a form of evaluation can be motivating for a student and teach them about working towards goals. However, such methods can be unfair and may not cover all aspects of a pupil’s progress. On the one hand, exams motivate children to perform better in order to secure good grades. Being able to secure high scores will have positive prospects for the undergraduate, which may be in the form of gifts from parents or appreciation by the teachers thus, exams work as an catalyst in making the students study hard. Also, studying for an exam teaches the junior the importance of preparation and dedication when it is needed the most. These ideals are highly beneficial for the future of a child. If these ideals aren’t learnt at an early stage, it’s difficult to learn and implement them later on. On the other hand, to begin with, the disadvantages of having examinations as a form of assessment, it is important to know that examinations can be unfair to certain undergraduate. If due to unforeseen conditions, a pupil does not perform well in a particular exam, they are considered to have failed, which is not proper. An example of such a situation would be, a junior that may have fared well for the entire academic year but unfortunately, due to ill health, scores low grades in the finals will be marked undeservingly low. Another drawback would be, such an assessing system may not evaluate all aspects of a child. For example, through tests, one cannot judge the social and moral values of an individual which are as important as knowledge. To conclude, tests teach students certain essential values while also motivating them, which are advantageous but events in which they can be unequal and incompetent while evaluating the student as a whole, can be disadvantageous as well.