Some people think that the only purpose of working hard is to earn money. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

There is a common impression that the sole purpose of working hard for anyone is to earn money. I fully disagree with this idea and this essay will explain further with examples on the same. Firstly, while most individuals work out of passion, there are some who work hard for fame and this purpose is not related to money. For example, Tom Cook created an APPLE MAC operating system that can perform complex calculations for the benefit of its users. Although he would receive more cash by selling his product to IBM organization, he chose to keep his focus on improving his operating system every year and this is because he is passionate about his product. Therefore, with the passion to solve other people's problems, some individuals tend to work very hard. Secondly, there are also many people who work for perks that are outside of salary. For instance, SAS Company has recorded the lowest attrition in the entire world despite high-performance pressure and this is because the CEO of SAS Institute has built a lot of amenities like schools, hospitals, apartments, supermarkets and restaurants freely for his employees within the company premises so that the employees can walk to office as well as take their children to school personally. Thus, it can be proved there are a lot of social benefits that can motivate anyone to work extremely hard. To conclude, there are various reasons for a person to work hard like passion, fame social perks. Furthermore, some like to work hard for non-monetary benefits like pollution-free workplace and health perks like access to the gym. Based on these reasons, I fully disagree with the statement that creating wealth is the only purpose for people to work hard.