Before students go to college, some students are encouraged to work or travel for a year, known as the gap year. Do you think this is a good idea?

Undergraduate is uplift to have a break for a year, preparatory to pursue higher education. In my,opinion this is not an ideal scenario, if not planned well, as some junior can end up wasting their time. Whereas, it can be beneficial for a scholar who knows exactly what to do. A pupil might end up losing momentum, as most are immature with an undeveloped mind. A one year gap is such a big void that can easily distract students from their studies. For example, in a survey conducted in,U.K it is seen that gap years affect the GPA of a student in university. There was underperformance seen in students for having a gap period. Therefore, without a proper plan for your gap year, it is totally a time waste. A gap duration might be expensive which may require a ton of extra planning. Travelling around the world to look for different opportunities also require some extra money. So, having a proper plan or knowing exactly what to do is essential in order to make it useful, otherwise, you will end up losing money and your year. For instance, If a person wants to travel or start up something of their own then he will require a lot of money or resources for that. Such resources are hard to get at such a small age with no prior experience or education. In conclusion, a break period prior to your higher studies is motivated by many people. However, I firmly believe that students can end up wasting their time and money and most importantly they can get distracted from their studies. This can result in their lack of performance in college, so it is important for them to plan their gap year properly. Also, they should keep in mind that after a year, they will pursue their studies.