With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

It is true that with the advent of social media, more children are meeting and talking to friends via the internet which leads to disastrous consequences. There are several solutions proposed to address the safety and usage of the internet. Firstly, parental control is necessary to avoid dangerous situations. Parents can turn on safety filters which allows children to only browse safe sites. This means that parents can control and monitor internet access. For instance, major internet providers such as Virgin Media, Sky and EE have set up safety features which allow parents to limit access to dangerous and harmful chat sites. However, a major drawback is the lack of cooperation from children who feel that their freedom is being taken away. Secondly, schools should be introducing safety classes regarding internet usage. Such classes could be led by an expert in the field who could teach children about the importance of using the internet in a safe manner. Thirdly, the government could introduce laws protecting children from accessing certain social media sites. This is because some children are naïve and gullible which makes them vulnerable to dangerous situations. For example, social media sites such as TikTok, Facebook and Snapchat are notoriously known for preying on children. If the government introduced age-restricted laws which limit access to these sites, children would be safer and more protected. Finally, cooperation with the police is imperative. Police and parents working together can ensure that children do not meet dangerous encounters. To conclude, it is well known that unsupervised access to social media is harmful to children, but there are several solutions proposed which can deal with this issue.