Some people feel the best way to reduce the number of accidents on the road is to further limit the speed of vehicles. Others think that there are better ways to tackle this issue. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, due to the increase in the number of vehicles road accidents have also increased. While some people believe that these accidents can be reduced by limiting the speed of vehicles, and others say that there are better ways to solve this problem. In my opinion, introducing zebra crossing and displaying a signboard with a speed limit can help us reduce accidents on the road. To start with, some people are of the view that accidents on the road can be decreased by limiting the speed of the vehicles. In other words, they feel that collision and the impact of the accident can be reduced by putting a speed limit on vehicles. Moreover their belief is that all the major accidents will turn into minor accidents by capping the speed. However, adopting this solution will not be practically possible as it will be a deal-breaker for the automobile sector. Thus, limiting the speed can be a solution but not an effective one. On the other hand, I side by the view of introducing other methods such as zebra crossing and displaying signboards in areas where the probability of accidents are high. In other words, by intimating the driver in advance that the speed needs to be reduced as they are entering the crowded place. In addition, having speed breakers and zebra crossing can help the driver to reduce the speed of the vehicle to avoid any accident. Lastly, there should be a driving test every two years to make sure that the driver is aware of all the road signs. Hence, I am of the view that accidents can be reduced by following the above approaches. In conclusion, although some agree that reducing vehicle speed is the only option to control accidents, I believe that there are other options like zebra crossing and signboards that can be of great help.