There are different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

The mounting diversity of music types nowadays is undeniable. To the best of my knowledge, music influences positively the psychological and emotional condition of an individual. Regarding local music, I am entirely sure that the latter plays a crucial role in preserving the nation’s unique culture. To begin with, the more the world develops, the more various genres of music emerge, and it would be really hard to imagine people’s life without songs and melodies. It is generally regarded that music contributes to rewinding and recharging one’s batteries. Admittedly, it provides spiritual and mental satisfaction. Thus, to some extent, music may serve as an irreplaceable remedy for stress or depression. The most salient example is the recent research of York University, which found that classical music noticeably reduces stress hormones in the blood. Nobody would deny that music represents a key distinguisher of culture. Hence, providing a nation underestimates its music traditions, then, it is likely to lose its valuable cultural heritage. I completely agree that in our globalised, world international music is highly appreciated among the world’s population, and especially the youngsters. Once this trend is continuous, the consequences may be disastrous. Therefore, for instance, the Kurds, being national minorities in Turkey, pay huge attention to teaching their children their traditional songs and dances, in order not to lose their national identity further down the line. In conclusion, music is essential for people’s emotional stability, and traditional music is the key consideration of fostering the cultural consciousness of a state.