Some people believe that if a police officer carries guns, it can encourage a higher level of violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The police ’s primary task is law enforcement to maintain public security. Also, carrying a gun is an essential part of the police ’s uniform. However, in the last year, the level of police violence has risen. Therefore, many people claim that carrying a pistol could increase the level of violence. This essay aims to discuss both sides of the argument. Firstly, the profession of a police officer is demanding and challenging. Therefore, carrying a gun serves as personal protection. Also, solving issues that require police intervention always commences with the establishment of the dialogue. Therefore, the use of violence is always the last choice. I agree that police officers should carry a gun due to their protection, however, we should be aware that there is a potential power abuse, even though it is more common in the US than it is in Europe. However, the image of a gun can be terrifying. Moreover, many have seen many American action movies, where everything was solved with the gun. Therefore, in many conflicted situations people tend to believe, the forces will be used, and violence will occur. Even though it could lead to violence, I believe we should educate ourselves more on this topic, and trust since the power has been authorized. Overall, the nature of a job demands certain protection, and it also represents the authority and seriousness of the profession. As much as it could lead to an increased level of violence, there are protocols and written rules that prohibit and demands the usage of the gun.