In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this positive or negative development?

Nowadays, most of the small local vendors are getting shut as people prefer going to big supermarkets or malls for their shopping. This is turning out to be a negative development for local shop owners. This essay will discuss a few negative impacts on small scale vendors due to this shift. Firstly, to buy or to rent a space in the shopping mall one has to shell out hefty rent. However, local businessman most of the time cannot afford to pay such expensive rentals. Eventually, out of no other, option they end up shutting down their business. For example, as most of the population prefers shopping for clothes from malls, the number of local garment stores have reduced drastically. Secondly, many authentic local items are not getting enough attention inside the shopping mart or malls as the major focus has been given to branded items. Although, some items are locally produced has better quality, they do not make it to the final shelf in the malls. For instance, in most grocery stores, locally produced food items are kept only in one rack but other racks are filled with all the branded ones. Therefore, this development is not only making losses for local vendors but also the importance of it is getting lost in the process. In conclusion, small scale local shop owners are not making enough profits that they can sustain the rentals in the supermarkets and the authenticity of local items are getting lost. Therefore, the government should introduce some amends to help and boost these vendors to stay strong in the competition. This will not only help them but everyone will be able to cherish their local values and traditions ahead.