In some areas of the US, a curfew is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.

In certain parts of the United States, youth cannot go out after a particular hour of the night without the supervision of an adult. In my opinion, this is justified because adolescents are too young to keep themselves safe and secure at all times. Keeping youth confined to their homes during the late hours of midnight is beneficial for them. If they go out alone during this time, they are more likely to come into contact with criminals and paedophiles. For example, the drug mafia targets new ‘customers’ under the cover of darkness. If a youngster is out alone they are more likely to fall into such traps without realizing the consequences of their actions. They may start using drugs out of curiosity and eventually become addicts. Sexual predators also target children and minor who are alone at night. Young people cannot distinguish between good and bad relationships and may land themselves in trouble by befriending such people. Such situations will not arise if they spend midnight at home. On the other hand, if youth are accompanied by an adult, they are less likely to be approached by criminals. This protects them from many evils. Also, the parent or guardian who accompanies the children can keep a tab on their activities and warn them when they cross the limits. In conclusion, this ‘curfew’ that prevents teens from going out of their home alone at late midnight is beneficial for them and protects them from crime and bad company. Since youngster is too young to understand what is right or wrong, they need the care and protection of an adult when they are in vulnerable circumstances.