Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Pet ownership has become common in recent years, and while some individuals believe that this has a positive impact, others argue that it is unhealthy and they may spread dangerous diseases. This essay will discuss both points of view and agree with the idea that having a pet is beneficial for young ones. On the one hand, the primary reason for individuals to consider household animals as a threat is their aggressive behaviour. That is to say, households that have children below five years may provoke them by treating them roughly. For example, children may harm the pets or chew their ears. This causes a pet to become angry and counterattack. Additionally, household pets may spread diseases like allergies and food poisoning because they carry dirt which contains various bacteria, pathogens and virus. However, a little bit of parental supervision is more than enough to take care of these problems. Parents should never leave very young children alone with the pet. It is also important to groom the pets properly so that they do not carry pathogens. On the other hand, having a pet has more reasonable benefits for children. Firstly, caring for their furry friends, such as taking them for a walk, feeding them and grooming them teaches them to be responsible not only towards other animals but also with people. Furthermore, being exposed to dogs or cats from a very young age will strengthen their immune system, and thus reduce their chances of falling ill. A Swedish study, for instance, reported that children below one year who grew up with dogs and cats have a healthy immune system and had no allergy issues or asthma, even though their family has a history of allergies and asthma. In conclusion, although owning a pet has a few negative impacts on children, I believe that there are more benefits as they teach children empathy and also boost their immunity.