Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communication, and people use more and more social media to communicate, and to follow news and events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary era of information technology, the use of social media has been increasing in an unprecedented way. As the conventional method of interaction among folks has been changed, individuals are using social media for the purpose of communicating, reading news, and following events. This essay will discuss why the soaring use of social media for communication purpose has more positive sides than drawbacks. To begin with, one of the primary benefits of social media, as a media of communication, is the easy accessibility of the netizens. Since social media can be operated on portable devices by means of an internet connection, people can easily get access to their account for reading news, calling and chatting with their friends and family members. Secondly, it can be used without any fees or charges. For instance,opening a new account, calling, and chatting with other persons can be taken place on social sites without any charges. Thus, social media is appeared to be a handy tool as it is freely accessible and can be operated without charges. On the other hand, one of the main cons of over-dependence on social media is that it is a less reliable way of communication. Although social media has been widely used for interaction purpose, it is often proved as a less trustworthy way of communication and publishing news, because the authenticity of the identity of other people can not be verified properly. For example, social media is often responsible for rumours and hoaxes. Another negative side of social media is that it is lessening the face-to-face interaction among the public. As a result, people are becoming less social and losing their interpersonal skills. In conclusion, the use of social media has been significantly raised in the last few decades. Even though social media has few drawbacks such as less authenticity and decreasing interpersonal skills, it has positive sides, including easy accessibility and free of charges. In my opinion, I think that social media can bring more benefits and it will certainly outweigh the drawbacks it has.