Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communication, and people use more and more social media to communicate, and to follow news and events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, older communication methods has been rendered obsolete by social media, and most prefer to follow news and events online. The benefits and drawbacks of this trend will be compared in this essay. Personally, I think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On could benefit immensely if they use social media. These online platforms are significantly fast compared to their ancestors such as TV channels and newspapers. After any shocking neww news happened in any part of the world, news spread quickly through social media in just a few seconds. Moreover, it is definitely a cost-benefit way of communication. It is possible to lease a cellphone including unlimited data access which allows users to send and receive text, photo and video messages on social media for less than 50 dollars per month. However, old telephones cost 5 dollars for each time phoning others, and membership of each newspaper or news broadcasting agency is aproximately 50 dollars a month. The most important demerit of social media is its addictive nature. Indeed, some users find various types of news about sports, politics and economy interesting so that they get used to follow news whenever possible. It is a time-consuming technology if users become addicted, and it will have negative impacts on other aspects of their life such as work and relationships at home. In addition, there are sometimes fake news spread on the internet which might become misleading. While news on official agencies are often fact checked, it is hardly possible to evaluate the source of news in the cyber-space. A prime example of yhis was romours about COVID-19 vaccines which were not verified by the World Health Organization. In conclusion, the advantages of social media such as its speed and expenses outweigh the disadvantages including its addictive nature and impossibility of its contents to be fact checked.