Some people think that schools should switch from print textbooks to digital textbooks on tablets, while others disagree. Discuss both point of view and give your own opinion.

Although a large number of people consider that printed schoolbooks used in educational institutions ought to be replaced by electronic materials on tablets, others are convinced that only paper-based books should be preferred. Personally, I support the latter view because printed supplies do not contribute to serious health problems as tablets do, even though digital technologies contain various technological features that cannot be found in print textbooks. On the one hand, one reason why proponents of digital materials insist on using primarily them to teach scholars is that devices can offer a wide range of unique modern features, enhancing pupils’ interactivity. This is because students can take advantage of various text formatting instruments, responsive diagrams, and multimedia objects. By implementing this interactive approach in teaching, not only will scholars be able to increase their creativity, but they will also feel more motivated to excel. However, despite the apparent attractiveness, tablets are often believed to have many distractions for students, such as enthralling games and irrelevant content on the Internet. On the other hand, I side with opponents of portable technological devices since their reasoning refers to scientifically proven facts that certain health issues and tablet utilization for studying go hand in hand. Not only do electronic devices cause Computer Vision Syndrome, which is manifested by eyestrain and headaches, but they also provoke different musculoskeletal disorders, be it shoulder pain or spinal dysfunction. As a consequence, the long-term use of tablets for educational purposes can lead to lifelong health problems and even become one of the causes for eye surgery. Having carried out research among school children, for instance, the International Health Organization has revealed that seven out of ten participants had eye related problems that could have been avoided if the screen time had been restricted to two hours a day. In conclusion, while some people tend to support the use of electronic devices for teaching at schools, others think that sticking to using print textbooks should be the key. No matter how featureful and interactive tablets are, I still opine that paper-based materials for scholars should be preferred due to technological devices ’ harmful effects on students’ vision and musculoskeletal system.