University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Discuss advantages and disadvantages.

More and more universities all around the globe are offering a semester abroad to their students. Some universities even cooperate together to offer such an opportunity as a «double degree». Although it can cost quite high, this is also an excellent way to expand your knowledge about life and learn some new language which can benefit your future career or even change your life dramatically. In my view, the benefits of such an experience outweigh all the difficulties a student may face abroad. Why does this practice become so popular and widely used? The main reason is that, in the current times of globalization, people need to understand how to communicate with foreigners. This skill is crucial if you want to build a solid career and become a useful worker in future. Practising a foreign language in the country of its origin is another massive benefit. You can never underestimate how fast and easy one starts to absorb the new language while in the country of its use. Living in another country forces you to act differently, to step away from your comfort zone. Anyone will become much more self-dependent and mature after such a challenge. For instance, while I was studying abroad in Finland during my university years, I have re-discovered myself as a person, and my self-confidence has risen drastically. Not to mention that I have met a lot of people from various European and Asian countries which helped me to understand how to find a common ground with someone from another culture. To tell you more, one of my former classmates found the love of her life while spending a semester in Germany. Then why do some people vote against this wonderful and fulfilling experience? The main drawback that stops a part of students from spending a semester abroad is money. Depends on where exactly would you like to study, it can be quite pricey. Not only you need to pay for the studies themselves, but also you should consider additional costs such as dormitory, transportation costs and pocket money. To give you an example, I know many people who would be happy to experience foreign studies but it will cost them an arm and a leg. To conclude, I would like to say that even if sometimes the price of foreign studies is high, we still need to try to experience this at least once in our life. Because there’s no better time for exploring yourself and the world around you than university years.