The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

The work-life balance in the twenty-first century is a trending and controversial issue among entrepreneurs and business owners as well as labour associations and organised unions worldwide. Many, myself included, advocate that weekly career times ought to be reduced and a more generous time off for employees should be granted for several beneficial reasons on both sides of the argument. On the one hand, according to me, since corporations are destined to meet their professional targets and achieve desired milestones, a diminished working week will result in more efficiency and productivity. If total job hours per week declined, for example, employees tend to be tremendously more vigilant and active in the workplace, a recent Harvard study revealed. Furthermore, workers and unions will put keeping this trend at the top of their priorities, so they will compensate the decreased hours with qualities such as higher dedication, competence and competitiveness. Hence, I unequivocally support this life-changing phenomenon as a positive development to cherish. On the other hand, in my opinion, longer weekends paves the ground for households to boost their relationships and strengthen the bonds among themselves. The longer the holidays the higher the chance of some quality leisure time with family, colleagues and friends. If the father gains more time off, for instance, the opportunity for an adventurous excursion in the countryside can take place more frequently. Moreover, the entertaining time spent with relatives not only enhances mental well-being but also forges unbreakable bonds with those who we hold dear. Therefore, it is enormously advantageous to treasure these priceless moments as an added value. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly agree with the proposed recommendation regarding working and holiday hours. Nevertheless, I vehemently reject an imbalance in the work-life equilibrium and argue that the adoption of this change not only has the potential to increase efficiency and productivity but also will foster the cherished leisure engagements which enhance mental satisfaction as well as physical flexibility.