in some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from healthy problem as a result of eating too much fast food. it is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

In recent years, Many people suffer from health problems such as obesity as a result of an unhealthy diet and a sedentary lifestyle. To manage this issue, some people say, imposing heavy taxes on these food items is necessary. I partially agree with this statement as I believe this will restrict only some people from consuming these products. Firstly, The most beneficial aspect of imposing taxes will be the additional income the country generates. This can be utilized towards public welfare. However, the health problems can still not be controlled through this, as it will successfully discourage middle and lower class society but won't affect the eating habits of the rich people. For example, In my country, the taxes on alcohol is more than hundred per cent but the sale of these is increasing yearly. Perhaps, the authorities should focus on controlling the import of certain products or if required ban some products which can be harmful to the health. Secondly, Taxes will allow teenagers with less pocket money to save on their food expenses. Furthermore, if the government reduces the prices of healthy food such as fruits and vegetables, People will prefer to buy and consume these, rather than fast food. Although this can have some advantages, the cons can give rise to far more serious problems for society. For instance, it can create a sense of inequality among youngsters, while kids from wealthy families will afford these foods whilst, other class of society cannot afford. In conclusion, though implementing higher taxes on junk food can control many people from increasing consumption. Moreover, decreasing the cost of nutritious foods and banning certain harmful food substance can overall benefit the whole society.