Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. Do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary world, it is irrefutable that agriculture is the backbone of each country. A large section of the society argues that nations should focus on producing food for their populations and try to import very little, and only if it is quite essential. I strongly agree with the aforementioned notion and the upcoming paragraphs will shed light on this in details. To commence with, one of the pivotal reasons to generate all edibles needed for all citizens is the economical stability of that country. If a nation produces all eatables by own, It will not depend on other nations to purchase which would result in the prosperity of that country. For instance, a recent survey conducted by BBC News has revealed that China became the second prosperous economy in the world due to its ability to produce grains for the whole nation. Moreover, when countries import food from other nations, they become dependent and sometimes suffer in case of a shortage of supplies. Therefore, It is candid that self-sufficiency of food item production for all inhabitants stabilizes that country economically. The other prime reason for supporting this idea is the quality of food. In other words, native foods are generally fresh and of high quality. Moreover, being produced locally, food items do not need any chemical to preserve them for a longer period. For example, the food items which are imported to other states are mixed with some sort of chemicals to preserve them for a couple of days. Thus, the edibles cultivated locally are of high quality. In conclusion, this essay discussed that the quality of the food which are produced locally is high and brings economical stability as well. I believe that every nation should cultivate food for their population and try to avoid importing edibles as much as possible.