Many people say that we have developed in to a “throw-away society” because we are filling up our environment with so many plastic bags and rubbish that we cannot fully dispose of. To want do you degree do you agree with this opinion?

A large portion of the population is convinced that we have turned into a "throw-away society" meaning people that contaminates the environment by filling it up with plastic bags and other rubbish. My essay will state my personal opinion on the topic. To start with, since the seventies the amount of contamination has increased to a level that is become unsustainable. Not only we fill the oceans with all kind of garbage, but also the skies and land, furthermore we have become very dependant on plastic and all of its variants, for example, in the supermarkets the fruits and vegetables come wrapped in plastic, in addition to the plastic bags we use to store our purchase when we all know that a simple bag takes thousand of years without any alteration causing severe contamination. Do we need so many plastic bags? Of course not, but we still act like we cannot live without them. Moreover, while there is an increasing amount of awareness and people are recycling more, this is not enough. Large companies dump their products in the ocean without anyone trying to stop them causing severe damage to the ecosystem and killing thousands of marine species. Having a few recycling centres is not the only solution, people should demand more severe laws punishing contamination. In conclusion, while I am sure a small part of the population is not aware of the level of contamination caused by throwing away all kind of stuff to our ecosystem I strongly agree that our society has gotten out of control with the contamination. We should be more aware of the damage caused by plastic and other stuff to the earth and try not to be so dependant on these products, also we should demand from our government to hard laws punishing any large companies that contaminate.