Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behaviour. What is your opinion?

These days, the amount of violence in media is growing. Some people believe that it has damaging effects while others deny it has any significant effect on society. I believe that in most cases media violence doesn’t affect people's behaviour. Firstly, I think people act on their motives, regardless of what they see on television. That is to say, if someone intends to do harm to somebody, that is not because of watching television or playing video games, but due to the basic person’s character and educational background. Moreover, video games and television may even reduce social violence by providing a safe outlet for aggressiveness. On the other hand, people may use video games to express their combative spirit so they can be more gentle in the real world. This may not only help those people but also reduce the level of social violence in a long-term perspective. Finally, despite many people claiming that media violence has damaging effects. I have never seen a correlation between violence in media and social violence in real life. I think everyone with critical thinking will agree and act wise in using the media for the right purpose. Taking everything into consideration, I would say that violence in media has no effect on people ’s behaviour. The social violence that happens in the real world depends on people ’s character. Media such as television and video games are not the main factors that shape personal character, and they can be even useful in reducing the level of violence.