In many countries the widespread use of the internet has given people more freedom to work or study at home instead of travelling to work or college. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, internet access has become easy and faster. Many countries have allowed their employees and even students to stay at home for their work and study. Thus, they are not required to go out. Many of them are encouraging the style of work and learning system but there is an argument that it has adverse effects and I will also agree with those who argue that negative aspects outweigh the advantages. Firstly, with the widespread use of the internet, many countries have accepted their employees can work from their place and students can also attend their classes remotely. This gives some flexibility in work for employees and now they need not worry about their office timings as it is very difficult to reach their workplace on time. And for students also this virtual learning completely eliminated carrying their heavy bags and also gives more time to spend with their parents. In addition,there are other benefits involved. For example, when the workforce and students are not going out then it will increase the space on roads and less traffic so that the air pollution can be reduced. On the other hand, this work from home and virtual learning is resulting inactive lifestyle as people and children are not involved in physical movements such as walking. Moreover, they are also not able to interact with others personally such as meeting colleagues and co- students end up with a sedentary lifestyle. For instance, a case study recently proves that, for the last few years, obesity cases are spiked up due to this inactive lifestyle. This is a serious issue and this can be reduced if employees and students go to their office and school. In conclusion, though there are few positive results with work from home and study remotely, the negative results outweigh the positive results and hence, nations should rethink their decision and allow employees and students for their normal style of work and study.