Some schools are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupils, while other schools have a very relaxed dress code. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children having school uniforms?

Some educational institutions implement stringent regulation on their uniforms and the appearance of their students, while others allow their students to wear whatever they want. In my opinion, the benefit of pupils wearing uniforms related to the reduction of the discrimination between the rich and the poor outweighs the drawback regarding the restriction of freedom of creativity. On the one hand, wearing school uniforms limits the students ’ freedom to be creative. Teenagers need to express their emotions and their taste in fashion through clothing, hair and accessories. However, they have to wear uniforms whenever they are on campus. This may lead to the fact that students cannot choose how to dress attractively or which colours suit them the best and express their characteristics through clothes, hair or accessories, which hinders them from growing up more creative when they study in the school that requires a strict dress code. On the other hand, school uniforms play a prominent role in eliminating the gap between the affluent and the needy. If pupils wear clothes based on their preferences, there will be major differences between prosperous and economically underprivileged students. For instance, students from wealthy backgrounds wear new, expensive and fashionable attire while impoverished ones are always dressed in old and cheap-looking clothes. This may lead to educational bullying. On the contrary, when everyone is dressed the same, there is no competition between peers about how they dress, which improves the learning environment and relationship between classmates. As a consequence, societal and economic class distinction is no longer a major problem in educational institutions In conclusion, the advantage of a stringent dress code, which is mitigating the discrimination between different classes in society overshadows its disadvantage in terms of creativity. Many schools ought to invest in their uniform to make them more attractive so that their students will be pleasant to wear them.