Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

With learning being a never-ending process for man, the methods employed by schools will always be questioned. A few persons believe that too much time is allocated to learning theory as opposed to acquiring practical skills. Others, however, disagree. this essay will discuss why certain people disagree, but why I strongly agree that utmost importance is given to theoretical learning more than practical. 'you cannot practice what you have no idea about". This is the argument of most people. they believe that while practical skills are important, students need to spend more time learning about the theoretical aspects of everything. For example, would you want a doctor who does not know about a procedure carrying out surgery on you? This is why they encourage more reading time than practical classes. However, when you analyze and critically look at the teaching curriculum adopted by most schools, you would notice the time given to practicals, is just not enough. A child is at school for 8 hours a day, and only 45 minutes is spent in the skills lab. For example, a study was done using a Facebook poll, which asked young adults aged 18-25, if any of the subjects taught in school can be applied to real-life situations. about 80% disagreed and stated they wish they had been taught more life-applicable skills in school. In conclusion, given the fact that education is important to man, we must create enough time to teach practical skills while teaching theory in all levels of learning institutions.