Some people say the main way to be happy in life is to have a lot of money. How might having a lot of money make people happy? What other things in life can make people happy?

It is believed by some persons that a major factor for living happily is to have money. Having the funds one need to buy the things they want, can be a source of happiness for them. Although, there are other factors that can contribute to a pleasant life. While some are of the opinion that money isn't needed to live a happy life, others believe it is a necessity. Primarily, the respect and social status that comes with being wealthy are attractive to certain folks. They believe if they have not amassed a certain degree of wealth, they would not be respected by not just their peers, but also their family. For instance, regardless of age, in eastern Nigeria, the Igbo people award titles to young men based on how much funds they provide to their local community. Consequently, you see a higher number of the male populace struggling to get wealthy just to fit into a social class. Secondly, the ability to afford the lifestyle you want is a welcome and relieving thought. Everyone has needs and desires. Being able to sponsor those needs is crucial. It is comforting to know that if one decides to take a vacation in Santorini or Bora Bora, they don't have to take out a loan for this. Hence, the sole belief that money answers all, and without, money one cannot be happy. Nevertheless, as much as money is a necessary evil, there are multiple factors that can ensure one has a good and satisfactory life. For example, family. Research has shown that children who come from happy families perform better in schools and also generally go-ahead to have better futures. Something else which can ensure one has a great life is good health. Nothing is better than living a life free of constant medications, hospital visits, pity from the public and not having control over your body. Money isn't all that is needed to live happily. To conclude, for some, possess a large amount of wealth is necessary to live well. While funds might be necessary to cater to our desires, other factors such as family and perfect health can ensure one is happy with life.