Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There’s a common belief that zoos are protecting rare species when some argue that they are brutal and should be shut down. In this essay arguments both for and against, as well as my opinion, will be evaluated. One of the major concerns is that zoos are limiting the activities of creatures and their natural way of spending their life. For instance, lions, which have to roam on the big territories, are conserved in small cages. It can lead to the lion losing its instincts. By keeping them cooped up, the chances of extinction are increased as conditions for mating and reproducing are broken. That goes for most of the animals, who can live in a wild habitat by themselves. Not to mention that some institutions abuse creatures, for example, training them for entertainment. How zoos can be useful? Well, some of the animals, for example, pandas, can not live in a habitat of wild nature. Pandas have troubles with reproduction and people are indeed helping, thus, increasing the population. Additionally, due to global warming, some species could lose their homes. For some endangered animals, it may be plausible to keep them in captivity, where they can roam freely. To conclude, zoos are useful as long as they satisfy the needs of the species they captured and don’t abuse them. In my opinion, it all depends on how well these institutions are managed. If they have large natural parks and workers are kinds, then there is no problem with captivating creatures, in order to save them. However, in the case of the opposite, zoos should be closed down.