Many people think that painting and music do not directly improve the quality of people. Therefore, governments should not spend too much money on artistic projects. Do you agree or disagree?

Many citizens hold the view that it is wasteful for the government to invest money in artistic projects as they do not enhance the lives of individuals. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this perspective and I believe that art and music are essential for the well-being and development of society. On the one hand, those who oppose allocating money to artistic works have several reasons to justify their position. They assert that music and painting do not really contribute to the development of their country. Hence, the government should not prioritize developing art over more urgent issues such as improving the nation’s infrastructures, addressing pollution problems and enhancing national security. On the other hand, I believe that painting and music can improve the quality of life for people. This is because art and music are part of life, they bring joy to society and add vibrancy and diversity to culture. For example, music festivals can connect people by singing and dancing together, and they can help entertain them after a long working day. Moreover, students can have a better understanding of historical events by visiting art exhibitions; they can also gain valuable knowledge about the artists who painted these events and their unique art styles. Furthermore, it is important that governments should invest money in artistic projects. By doing so, they can create more employment opportunities for those who are interested in the artistic field, so these people can significantly contribute to culture and tourism. For instance, the country will have more income from foreign visitors, it will become well-known for its national cultural identity and experience increasing prosperity. To sum up, despite the negative viewpoint that some people have on the artistic field, I assert that it is the right thing for the government to spend money on art and music for better living standards, as they can develop the tourism sector and bring happiness to society.