Rich countries are getting richer and poor countries are getting poorer. What are the causes? What could be done to solve this problem?

Poor countries are getting poorer whereas rich countries are getting richer. There are many reasons behind this statement and this essay will discuss the two main reasons (Population and Poor Governance) as well as solutions to these problems. The sharp increase in population and poor leadership in some regions are the major reasons why these countries are poorer as compared to others. The population is the leading cause of unemployment which leads to low per-capita income and further leads to low GDP of the country. According to a survey in 2018, the percentage of global wealth in high-income countries like the USA and parts of Europe is higher and is inversely proportional to their population. Similarly, the population of countries like India and Vietnam is much higher resulting in a lower proportion of global wealth. In addition, poor political leadership is another main cause behind countries failing as economies and are unable to get out of this vicious circle. The Government plays a significant role in increasing the ratio of global wealth in its country but there are many leaders that are failing to keep the economic boat afloat by spending surplus money on elements that are not of much importance. To cite an example, the Indian Government spent INR 3800 crores on a statue rather than diverting the amount to more pressing issues which can create more job opportunities and eventually enjoy financial freedom. These are the two leading causes why rich countries are prospering financially and other regions are struggling. The solutions to the problems mentioned above are birth control and better leadership. Birth control is one of the ways to tackle the problem of population. There should be norms to have only 1 child which can play a significant in curbing the population. For instance, China has been controlling birth for a long time and has succeeded to a large extent and it has helped China to increase employment opportunities all over the country. In addition, it has put China in a better position monetarily and it has become one of the leading economies of the world. Additionally, the solution to poor governance is to elect better leaders who understand economics and can create better job opportunities and lead the country to a being rich. To conclude, the two major problems which are population and poor Government can be tackled by amicable solutions (birth control and smarter leadership). This is the way the poorer countries can become rich and compete with other parts of the world.