Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

People are increasingly shopping online to buy almost everything they need. This trend brings evident advantages such as people saving time and effort, however the main drawbacks of buying things on the Internet is that it can be not practical most of the times, especially for everyday goods and it might end up in a concerning saturation of the delivering system. In my perspective, the benefits of relying on virtual shopping do not outweigh the shortcomings. The greatest benefit of purchasing online is that it is a time and energy-saving habit. For example, people have no need to stand in line and wait for their turn at some event's stand to buy a ticket as they can comfortably book it online at their home. Furthermore, doing grocery shopping online saves the effort to go out and carry heavy bags back to one's place: many people suffering by physical hindrances, including disabled ones or elderies elders elder, would gain the independence of doing shopping on their own and receive the items directly at their place, which would otherwise be impossible. For these reasons, purchasing goods virtually has become a popular trend among the population. On the other hand, purchasing online routinely can be not practical in most cases and it might also lead to a severe saturation of the courier system. When we need to buy clothings, for instance, the best way to pick up what is best for us is to try directly by ourselves. In my personal experience, in fact, whenever I use to buy clothes on a store's website I would choose the one that appears suitable according to my body measures, but everytime the package arrives, I end up feeling disappointed for picking the wrong size and having to send it back. An other remarkable disadvantage of shopping online, is that if every person wanted their goods to be delivered at their home, the delivery system would saturate as couriers would need to handle a massive amount of packages per day.On top of being stressful for past officers and hauliers, buying goods from the internet can be also not environmental-friendly with dramatic increase of air pollution and waste production. To conclude, more and more customers buy products on the Internet rather than visiting the physical shop by themselves. Although purchasing online is more effecting in terms of saving time and effort, relying on online shopping alone proved to be not always the most effective way to purchase and it can also impact negatively on the delivery work system that would need to takcle take an extremely high demand of to-go products. Subsequently, I believe that the benefits of purchasing on online platforms do not exceed the drawbacks.