Too many old historical buildings are in danger and demolished in many countries What are the main reasons How can they be protected

A large number of old monuments are bulldozed and are no longer safe in many countries. The main reasons for this trend are the high cost of maintaining these buildings and the lack of accommodation area for ever-increasing population This essay shall discuss the main reasons for the demolishment of monuments along with some suggestions to protect them. There are numerous reasons for bulldozing old historical buildings. Firstly, the unavailability of a sufficient amount of funds to renovate these old monuments. For instance, as per a survey, many old monuments are demolished over the world due to the high cost of their maintenance. Secondly, there are many countries which fail to meet the demand for accommodation areas for their crowded population. Due to this, many immemorial buildings which do not generate any commercial value are put into residential use. Last but not least, People, who are surrounded by historical buildings that are in a dilapidated state, are at risk during natural disasters. Because of this, bulldozing such buildings is the only way to ensure the safety of the general public who live next to them. The major steps that can be taken to protect ancient buildings are as follows. The government should plan and allocate enough funds for the maintenance in the budget itself. For example, revenue generated from the taxes can be utilised to upkeep these buildings. Additionally, the general public should take the onus to keep these buildings clean by not spreading garbage and carving names on walls. To conclude, demolitions of immemorial buildings are mainly due to a lack of funds for their renovation and threats to surrounding areas. However, this can be avoided by the proper allocation of funds from the government.