Modern technology now allows rapid and uncontrolled access to information in many countries. This is a danger to our societies.

In the 21st century, information is one of the most valuable assets to be possessed. This is because it helps us get out of the confines of the walls of our houses and connect ourselves with the rest of the world. At the same time, the ungoverned access to the private data is a threat which cannot be ignored. While this essay will discuss points that advocate both sides of the argument, in my opinion, the opportunities created by convenient access to information far outweigh the danger of misusing the same. Brilliant minds and ideas do not necessarily come out of metro cities of many countries, by the invention of the internet and social media platforms, talent no longer goes unnoticed and unrewarded. This was not the case two or three decades ago. The access to information has given a platform to the world to come together at a common marketplace and exchange ideas to grow together. An opposing view to this could be that the sensitivity of personal data is not protected enough toprevent its potential misuse. While this is a valid point, cybersecurity as a concept is getting its due importance as we head into a data -driven world. For instance, the governments summon the top executives of social media platforms over alleged breach of privacy of the user's data. With stricter laws in place, incidents of data theft and compromising confidentiality can be minimized. To conclude, I would say a glass is always half full or half empty, it is upon us how we look at it. The benefits of connecting people worldwide through access to information and bringing out brilliant minds from remote locations have an edge over the threat to society of data misuse.