Some people say that the positive effects of advertising outweigh its negative effects. Do you agree or disagree?

In the past centuries, advertisements are used to publicize the products, which can help merchants attract more consumers and achieve higher sales. In modern society, advertisements is continuously increasing in people ’s life, especially on the Internet. Consumers can see advertisements everywhere and catch more information about the latest production, but sometimes people will be affected by advertisements negatively. In my opinion, advertising has more negative effects in our daily life in recent years. Firstly, advertisements usually interrupt people ’s work or entertainment. In digital age, because of the convenience of internet, people join lots of work or entertainment online. At the same time, merchants also aim to attract potential consumers from the internet, so huge amounts of advertisements are published on the internet, which often interrupt people ’s activities. Take YouTube for example, when people open a link of a video, a thirty- second advertisement must be watched before, sometimes people ’s expectation of the video will be deducted during the advertisement. Also, the advertisements on some websites that cover up some significant information make people confused. On the other hand, some advertisements mislead people consume useless products. Recently, many advertisements are added some misleading content, which builds an illusion that people need the products in these advertisements. For instance, some drink companies make publicize that their new products include zero sugar, thus people can drink them without the concerns of being fat. However, there are still contain ingredients with high calories. This kind of advertisements never cheat consumer, but some functions of products are exaggerated, or some information is hidden. As a result, most consumers waste their money on those useless products for theirselves. In conclusion, the advantage of advertising is less than the negative effects to common people in modern society. Although advertisements increase the sales of products for many companies, which promote the development of society economy, they still affect people in some bad aspects. Therefore, positive effects of advertising can hardly cover the side effects it makes.