In some countries, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, an increasing number of young people, including the graduates, are still living with their parents. While some argue that this pattern of behaviour has some advantages, I believe that these are outweighed by drawbacks. On the one hand, the option to live under the same roof with parents offers some advantages. First of all, it helps youngsters to save money when they do not have to allocate for rent, electricity or water. This savings may be used for emergency situations such as sickness or marriage. In addition, living together with parents can help forge stronger bonds between family members. For instance, after a busy working day, a newly graduate student can have dinner time with his parents, discuss problems at work and maybe get some advice. On the other hand, it is clear that living at home with parents has some undeniable disadvantages. Firstly, people who refuse to live on their own are more likely to experience a prolonged period of immaturity. Those remaining at home are usually exempt from mundane tasks such as cleaning rooms, doing laundry and cooking meals. Consequently, they are more dependent on their parents, lack life skills and capacity for self-reliance. Besides, from the perspective of their parents, they may want more time for themselves, free of family responsibilities. They had worked hard, raised their children's childrens and helped them through higher education. After being such a dedicated parent, they deserve some time for themselves. In conclusion, although living with parents may provide some benefits, it seems to me that it is better for teenagers to take full responsibility of their lives at the age of 18.