Governments should focus on building transportation infrastructure for bicycles rather than motor vehicles. To what extent do you agree?

Bicycling has been in service in human society for more than two centuries; however, with the arrival of modern transportation, bikes tend to be outdated civil products. Therefore, in my view, I object to constructing more roads suitable for cycling around cities especially cosmopolitan areas in terms of the demand of people of all ages. Undeniably, cycling as a travelling tool is unsafe for the youth on roads especially inner-city ones which are packed with all kinds of vehicles. The youth,especially young children, are too young to respond to emergent situations on roads when they are riding their bikes and are distracted by all kinds of things on the roads. Moreover, they also lack the knowledge to tell traffic signs, which put them at risk to be involved in motor vehicle accidents as well. Certainly, investing money in constructing more roads for cyclists is unwise. Not only the youth, but adults are also unsuitable to ride bicycles for their daily routine activities. It is impossible for adults to commute daily to work by bike because,after cycling, riders often sweat a lot and smell bad. For many white collars, their imagines may be influenced if they smell bad or are too sweaty in their offices. Nowadays, workers also need to commute a long distance to their workplaces so riding a bicycle to work is inefficient for them as compared to taking a train or subway, especially in winter when the weather is extremely harsh. Moreover, many adults need an efficient transport tool to carry their heavy accessible items such as grocery goods or personal suitcases, and obviously, cycling is not a perfect choice. Therefore, in my view, it is pointless for local governments to invest taxpayers' money in constructing roads for cycling. Definitely, indoor cycling is a healthy exercise for seniors; but outdoor one is unsuitable for them because this kind of outdoor activity may increase opportunities for them to be involved in accidents. For example, once they fall down from their bikes, they may have a high chance to suffer from bone fractures or intracranial bleeding. Seniors also tend to have poor memories due to their deteriorating health conditions, so it is tough for them to remember passwords for their bike lockers. They may encounter more challenges if riding bikes instead of taking public transportation or driving their own cars. For people of all ages, cycling on roads, especially in urban regions, tends to be unsuitable on account of the fact that riding bicycles always exposes riders to all kinds of dangers or it is an impractical activity for riders. Therefore, investing taxpayers' money in constructing roads for cyclists is foolish for local governments.