It has become easier and more affordable for people to visit other countries. Is it a positive or negative development?

Our society has been experiencing a tremendous change in the tourism industry. Gratifyingly, people tend to be provided easy access to other countries with low expense during travel. This essay will demonstrate both merits and demerits of this trend. On one hand, such an undemanding way to take a journey to a non-domestic region has multiple benefits to individuals and the local community. Firstly, when visiting a foreign country, people would frequently encounter many cases such as ordering meals in other languages, navigating to unfamiliar places, and unexpected situations to tackle, through which one might realize how resourceful and capable he/she could be. Therefore, valuable perspectives brought by a fantastic trip can be easier to obtain. Secondly, compared with the past, cheaper and convenient flights and accommodations have attracted individuals to travel around, which can stimulate demand for products and services like purchasing souvenirs and booking tickets, thus contributing to economic growth. On the other hand, a deluge of visitors can be devastating the local environment as they may litter everywhere or mark some facilities. These behaviours might put a heavy burden on the environment. As a matter of fact, the most inaccessible scenic spots, for example, Mount Everest, have not escaped human-generated waste. However, I would argue that such an ongoing plight can be changed, thanks to the boom of tourism. It is because more and more authorities have recognized the sustainable tourism hinges largely on a tidy and neat environment. Although people have a chance to choose an affordable trip, the place may not be with garbage-engulfed corners and damaged facilities. In conclusion, many countries have provided visitors with more affordable flights, accommodations, and other travelling fees for other services. Various pieces of evidence have been gathered to prove that it has several positive effects not only for travellers themselves but also for the economic growth in these countries. Moreover, I believe the local government will implement more effective measures to save and guarantee the beauty of the scenery.