With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. WHAT ARE THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF THIS TREND?

In the technological era, the digitisation of books is proliferating. this increasing ubiquity of digital books is accompanied by rendering traditional printed books obsolete. Opinions are, thus, divided as to whether this is a positive development. In this essay, I will discuss both the plus points and the drawbacks to this significant shift, and take the view that its positives overshadow the negatives. The most powerful argument in favour of e- books is their convenience. People only need a portable device to store a raft of e- books. Conversely, a large amount of space is required either to retain or to carry a lot of paper books. Customisation is a unique feature of them that enables readers to modify the font size or even the font style, something that has never been possible with a printed book. Another strength of this adoption lies in its greenness. Not only do they not contribute to global deforestation, but also help reduce people ’s carbon footprints. It is also important to consider, e- books have been worthwhile during Covid lockdowns and restrictions. Notwithstanding these benefits, there is another school of thought which believes this reading format can have deleterious impacts on people health and the environment. Nowadays, people are spending more time staring at screens. Despite vision screen protections being available now, some people maintain that the vogue for digital books may increase the risk of people suffering from pertinent health problems, for example, eye strain. In terms of the environment, on account of alleged planned obsolescence, an increasing amount of hardware and e-readers, like Kindle, are being disposed of. Hence e-waste and its recycling are an underlying issue. In conclusion, the popularity of e- books is on the rise by virtue of the significant advantages, and it seems its problems are not insurmountable. I subscribe to the theory that this is clearly more of a positive than a negative development.