A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Currently, many think that one's worth seems to be judged based on their material possessions and social status and the values they hold such as honour, kindness and trust are no longer essential. In this essay, I will talk about how I do not agree with this idea. Over the last few decades, emphasis on wealth and status seemed to be the basis of how a person is kind or is a responsible person. Luxurious homes, new devices and having a lavish lifestyle are perceived by others as successful and admired by plenty. With the rise of social media, more people have been showcasing their wealth and showing everyone how happy and content they are with what they have. For example, rising tiktokers have been posting videos of trips they managed to plan due to their account success and how they are racking in money. These kinds of videos will help in instilling the idea that money equates to happiness. On the other hand, values such as honour, kindness and trust do not seem to have their importance lost. Many communities are instilling these old-fashioned values onto people. People have high regard for having these old-fashioned values such as trustfulness and kindness celebrated through personal relationships. Many cultures still deem honour and integrity as essential qualities that define a person. Moreover, in workplace settings, people who are considered trustworthy and considerate tend to build strong interpersonal and intrapersonal relationships among others. For example, one colleague of mine was voted as an employee of the month as he was able to execute core company values that enabled him to do his work properly and efficiently. To conclude, social status and wealth are considered by many as an essential value to hold in this day and age but old-fashioned values are still needed to foster relationships with others and cultivate a sense of community. Therefore, social success is highlighted, one's values are what define a person.