Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A virtual meeting has been the main method of interaction in the social media era,especially for adolescents. There are several reasons underlying this phenomenon. One thing for sure is it is important for these teenagers to have a face-to-face meeting and there are ways to motivate them to do so. In the era of technological advancement, everything we need is available one click away, including the need for socialisation. Many popular applications provide features to not only have a talk with another person by text but also via video call. With all these features ready to use in an instant, it is no wonder why youngsters, who are so apt at using technology, prefer to socialise this way. On top of that, it is somewhat more convenient psychologically to have a conversation without the other person's presence. For example, if one is angry with his/her friend, it feels safer to express this feeling via text. This leads us to the notion that it is actually healthy to have a real-life social experience and it needs to be promoted by all parties in juveniles' life. Firstly, parents can do this by being an example themselves: show that meeting someone in person cannot be wholly substituted by a virtual meeting/chat. Secondly, teachers at school should encourage their students to participate in extracurricular activities and highlight their importance, especially in relation to social development. Lastly, as for the adolescents themselves, they need to take a leap of faith that spending their time for an offline meeting leads to more benefits than harms. In conclusion, the tendency for teenagers to interact online is mainly the inescapable implication of technology. Therefore, efforts from all people involved are highly crucial to address this circumstance.