Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime is a serious problem across the globe and all countries are trying to address this pressing issue. A segment of society is convinced that longer prison sentences can deter other people from committing criminal offences. Others, however, believe that there are better ways to tackle this issue. The following paragraphs will discuss both views and explain why alternative ways like providing free education and training courses are more effective to eradicate acts of violation of the law. To commence, some people think that longer prison sentences can instil fear of being imprisoned. In other words, if a criminal is already aware of punishment, they will more likely be discouraged from committing any crime. For example, in UAE both rapists and murderers get lifelong imprisonment. As a result, fewer people become criminals. However, long imprisonment is not beneficial for the economy because it means that more people should be supported in prisons on taxpayers money. On the other hand, as alternative measures, governments can tackle the root reasons for crime. There is a clear link between unemployment and people's violent behaviour. If governments provide free training courses, people will be busy with working. Take, for instance, Sweden. It provides free education for citizens. That is the reason why Sweden tops the list of safe countries of the world. To conclude, long prison sentences can deter people from crime; nonetheless, this method is not efficient. I believe that targeting the root causes can be beneficial for the economy, the government and its citizens.