People nowadays send text messages more frequently than they talk on the phone. Do the advantages of texting outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, people prefer to send written messages than talking over a phone. This essay will argue that despite there being time wastage during sending text messages, the benefit of replying to messages as per suitable time far outweighs any drawbacks. The major disadvantage of chatting with people via text messaging is that it tends to waste a lot of precious time. This is because individuals wait for the reply until the receivers read the message and revert to a message. This waiting period in-between sending and receiving a message squanders time. To illustrate, a recent study by Cambridge University found that people who converse via text messaging waste nearly 2 hours on a daily basis than who do not. However, many found this method of conversation a convenient way of communication. The main merit of communicating via text messaging is that people can answer to a message as per their convenient time. This is especially beneficial to people who live and work in different time zones and they have to converse on a regular basis. This actually does not disturb the receiver as in case of a phone call and can reply as they feel comfortable. For example, I work as a freelancer, and most of my clients are from the US. I converse with them via sending an email and other methods of text messaging. This means that I can reply to their queries of each other as per convenience. In conclusion, the advantage of replying at a comfortable time far outweighs the supposed disadvantage of wastage of time in a text conversation.