Organized tours to remote communities and other countries are increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for local people and the local environment?

Visitors love to visit rarely known places and are enthusiastic about knowing the culture of distinct tribes and countries. I believe this is a positive development. First and foremost, tourists will encourage local people to preserve their culture. In other words, it is inevitable that cultures and old customs are fading away and foreigners’ visits may work as a motivation for locals to hold their customs tightly. Secondly, natives may be proud of the customs, which previously were a source of embarrassment, because when visitors show excitement about that country’s culture, natives may start to follow their cultures again, which once diminishes in the name of modern living. For example, several communities have special dresses, which are becoming a thing of the past, but tourists might keep them alive. Therefore tours to remote communities will do good but harm. When people from different countries travel through various countries, they will spread rare and beautiful anecdotes and cultures around the world. Furthermore, tourism also provides financial aid and creates employment. For instance, many poor countries that do not have many resources but beautiful places and rich cultures, depend on tourism economically. Meanwhile, this is indirectly beneficial for the environment also. As in order to preserve mesmerizing natural sites, governments try to minimise carbon footprint. Take Bhutan, for instance, which has a law that 60% of the land will be allocated for the forest,which makes this country carbon negative. To conclude, I think trips to remote culturally rich areas bring several benefits and create an ambience of respecting each other’s customs and rituals.