Some think that printed books are not necessary in the digital era, because all writing can be stored electronically. Others think printed books still play an important role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the social concerns today relates to printed versus online books. While it is widely believed that printed books are no longer necessary in the era of digital transformation, where texts can be stored electronically, others argue that paper reading materials still play a significant role. This essay is going to discuss both points of view. In my opinion, online books will continue to develop and dominate in the future. On the one hand, paper books are becoming less essential in the age of innovation due to digital storage. The main reason is that information can be securely stored on Internet platforms such as Google Drive and iCloud. It is also worth noting that textbooks are conveniently preserved online thanks to advances in technology. For example, many technological gadgets have been invented to facilitate data storage, with Google Drive being one of the most popular, boasting over 3 billion users in 2024, according to VN Express. Another reason is the widespread use of high-tech devices such as smartphones, tablets, and computers. With the rise of e- books and digital libraries, many people believe that printed books are no longer necessary in today's fast-paced, technology-driven world. On the other hand, it is strongly believed that printed books remain crucial to cultural preservation. This viewpoint stems from the fact that, since ancient times, humans have relied on physical books. For instance, printed books play an important role in preserving and transmitting cultural knowledge, traditions, and languages across generations. Furthermore, certain types of books cannot be fully digitised, such as ancient texts engraved on rocks or cave walls. A particularly good example is that many textbooks requiring tactile interaction, like art sketchbooks or science lab manuals with fold-out diagrams, cannot be completely digitised without losing their practical value. In conclusion, in today’s digital era, there is an ongoing debate between traditional printed and online books. Personally, I believe that all types of books will become predominantly digital.