Nowadays, we are producing more and more rubbish Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help to reduce the amoung of rubbish produced?

More than any time in history the amount of garbage being produced in our society is increasing at a very alarming exponential rate. The purpose of this essay is to discuss my opinion regarding the reasons behind such happenings and propose some actions that governments need to take in order to bring this under control. The primary reason why I believe the population is generating more rubbish is due to the lack of critical consumerism. In fact, people are buying things they might not need just because it is cheaper. For example, there has been an increase in clothing stores, where any item can be bought for at most 20 reais. In addition, people are not used to recycling, as it had not been a concern in the past, it is not a concept that has been passed throughout generations. However, fortunately, there are some attitudes governments could put in place to alleviate these problems. To address high item consumption, politicians may impose minimum requirements for working, as most of the reasons related to the low price of items are slave labour. In order to reduce governments can incentive recycling by reducing taxes for those who reach the lowest percentage of rubbish, as well as creating campaigns to educate the population. In conclusion, the main reasons for the increase in garbage are due to unthoughtful consumerism, as well as the lack of effective recycling policies in our society. The best ways to deal with these problems are to guarantee safe work conditions and educate people on recycling. Although the problem is unlikely to be entirely eliminated in the short term, there are concrete steps to reduce the effect it is having in the current society.