Many people say that we now live in 'consumer societies' where money and possessions are given too much importance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the midst of this technology driven-global world,most folks think that, as we all living in the twenty- first century,people give more importance to social status and finance. I totally agree with this statement,in this essay I will illustrate it with my experiences. Over the past few decades,human habits and thinking ability had changed a lot. Apparently,most of them want to get good possession in society, to achieve that, they are ready to work hard. As per today's situation, those who have a good amount of money, have a better status in their state or country. Therefore all are running behind money,as they work day and night. As a result, they are not only compromising family relationships but also their health.To illustrate this,I had a friend in my college,who was very keen to make more money, thus, he will get a good reputation in his village, that is what he told to everyone.He used to work after our college time without having proper food or rest. this was continued for three years. However, he couldn't even enjoy his life as he wished,before that all of a sudden he had died due to cardiac arrest. In the current society what we are living in now is a dangerous one. Ostensibly,here people are making relationships with others by measuring their monitory background and social status. Even from childhood,kids are getting trained by their parents, not to keep friendship with those who come from a low socio-economic background. For example, last year I visited a school,there I found a boy who was standing in a corner, not mingling with others,while the rest of the students were playing. Then I asked that boy about the reason,He told me that,he is coming from a coastal area and his father is a fisherman,so the rest of them won't even talk with him, even though he is a rank holder in his school. This is how our next generation is growing. All are simply just behind money and social status. To conclude,Most of them in this generation are very passionate to make more wealth and achieving a better status in this consumer society.Tacitly, all humanitarian considerations and values were neglected.