One of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

With agreeable to the order of the day, people, nowadays, are buying and using more cars in order to lead an epicurean life, creating many problems for the natural environment. Consequently, there has been a growing body of opinion in favour of increasing the price of fuel for cars and other transport so as to solve environmental issues. Being a rational mind, however, take issue with this notion, for I am of the view that this step will escalate the food production and will have no impact on opulent people’s lifestyle. Among the ratiocination to buttress my stance, the one that deals with the significance of raising the fuel cost as a way to stabilize the price of foods. In other words, if governments increase the cost of fuel for vehicles, the transportation cost of the food supply rises simultaneously, causing to go up the price of foodstuff that may be a burden for the general public. To cite an example, in 2009 when the government of Singapore increased the price of fuel to control traffic and contain air pollution, the citizens had to cut the chosen food items from their lists because of high price, causing dissatisfaction towards the government. Hence, inasmuch as the increasing price of fuel would lead to raising the price of general food, this approach should not be applied. Another critical rationale in reference to why governments ought not to increase the fuel cost is necessarily synonymous with not having any impact on rich people who have cars. To be more precise, if an individual had the ability to purchase and maintain a vehicle, he or she would be able to pay the increased fuel price with a view to maintaining his social status. To exemplify, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that 95% of car owners are ready to cut their budget from other sides, but they are not willing to leave their cars. Therefore, the step of rising the fuel cost would have no effect on car owners’ attitudes as well as on the environment. In conclusion insofar as increasing fuel costs for vehicles would lead to increasing the price of foods and would not motivate rich people, this policy cannot solve environmental issues.