**There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems.** **To what extent do you agree or disagree?**

Some argue serious social matters arising from the shortage of housing in urban can be pragmatically remedied by the government. In my opinion, their viewpoints are legitimate because private sectors in this area remain low and the government should bear the burden of responsibility. The most frequently cited rationale for the limited support from private enterprises is their profit-focused objective. This argument rests on the fact that most real estate and construction firms are driven to generate as much profit as possible and incline towards serving the wealthy. This can be most apparently seen in myriad luxury apartments in New York, which were built at the expense of government housing projects. These efforts have pushed the underprivileged citizenry out of their home, dragged them further from work, and engendered a wide breadth of social instability. The accumulated evidence has reasoned for the private companies' neglect towards social problems. Albeit conceding that private businesses have no responsibility, I would contend that government intervention would play a pivotal role in containing these consequences to the scarcity of houses. This is predicated based on the assumption that governments can either build themselves using taxes or accept bids from construction companies. One of the salient illustrations of this is often indicated in undeveloped or poorly planned areas for new houses, which private housing developers can set foot in and bid with the government's supervision. These areas are predisposed to be unavailable for commercial exploitation and this gives governors more power over business moguls. Therefore, governments having the full responsibility to counter these issues in urban confers a valid standpoint as they can create new residential areas with affordable prices. In conclusion, whilst private companies would not take the social side into account, governments are the catalyst for all housing solutions. In my final thought, governors and private city planners should jointly propose a more holistic approach in order to strike some balance in providing more convenient and affordable homes.