Some people believe that professional athletes serve as positive role models for young people, while others argue that their behavior both on and off the field can have a negative influence. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, professional athletes play a pivotal role in influencing teenagers. This is the reason why many people argue that positive influences outweigh the negative ones. In the following paragraphs, both of these perspectives will be thoroughly examined, and the opinion will be given in detail before a final conclusion is drawn It is evident that young people are vulnerable and can be easily influenced by the environment around them. Many sportsperson’s behaviour has been affecting the society in a positive way. For example, Christiano Ronaldo, a professional footballer, aside from his distinctive talents, is also famous for his dedication and consistency, both on and off the pitch. The young people who want to be a footballers can look up to him. On the other hand, some professional athletes who are not well-behaved can have a negative influence on society. Some sportspersons used their fame in a bad way and were put into jail for what they had done. However, young individuals can learn from what is the consequence of doing bad things, take it like a lesson learnt, and never follow. Given these circumstances, there are both positive and negative effects on the behaviour of professional athletes on young people. It seems to me that children will not be capable of understanding or making decisions because of their ages. They will not know what is good to imitate. In conclusion, professional sportsmen can influence young people in various aspects. From my perspective, parents should look after their children carefully and give suggestions on what is good or bad.