While some people consider global warming to be the most pressing environmental problem which we have at the moment, others believe that deforestation has a more devastating impact on our world. Discuss both and give your opinion

There is no doubt that global warming is the most pressing crisis plaguing our planet, and if no action is taken immediately we will find ourselves in a very dire situation. Some people believe that deforestation has an even more devastating impact as compared to global warming. In this essay, we shall look at both sides of this coin. First and foremost, we must understand that the rate of deforestation far exceeds the rate at which forests are being created. The largest rainforest in the world, the Amazon, which spreads over nine countries in South America, is being removed at a rapid rate, to meet the global demand for land, which many manufacturers require for allowing to establish their factories. Because of this many animal and plant species are being displaced as well as the removal of indigenous people from their homeland. To put things in perspective, the Amazon is said to generate 20% of the world's oxygen, and therefore the destruction of these forests will have nothing but negative repercussions. In addition, the burning of fossil fuels by factories, vehicles, and forest fires increases the earth's temperature, resulting in serve climate change the world over. This can be seen with the floods currently happening both in India and China. In rural areas of India, the burning of crops at the end of the harvest period cause a cloud of smog which engulfs Delhi and results in many breathing-related fatalities. In conclusion, both global warming, and deforestation pose serious concerns to the future existence of Mother Earth. An important point to remember is that in one year a mature tree will absorb more than 48 pounds of carbon dioxide from the atmosphere and release oxygen in exchange. This clearly shows how both deforestation and global warming are intertwined with each other.