In the past,teachers were the main source of information,but today students have a wide source of information, so teachers are no longer important in the modern education. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the opinion that teachers are no more essential in modern education for students can obtain information through much wider sources. From my perspective, I disagree with this point of view, and I believe teachers still play an important role in the educational progress of students. There are a number of reasons why I assert the importance of teachers. Predominantly, at school, only teachers can guide students face to face in real-time, providing a more systematic and efficient education. Teachers know how to teach students in terms of their weaknesses, and thus students can gain a more comprehensive knowledge system. Besides, the professionalism of certified teachers is more reliable. For instance, these teachers are much more familiar and experienced with the problems students usually face. As a result, students could get correct and standard answers from their teachers, less time and energy-consuming than searching on the internet. Undeniably, information on the internet takes certain advantages over that from teachers. For example, it covers a wider range of knowledge of teachers, and students can freely choose what they want to learn. However, information on the internet is a mixed bag. Not only professionals in specific areas but also the general public can publish comments and articles on knowledge websites and platforms, and therefore, students could be misled by the fallacious information, forming a wrong understanding, thereby, which might cause adverse effects to students in the long run. In conclusion, while I realize that wider access to information could benefit students, I do believe that the role and status of teachers can not be replaced in modern education.