Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the advertising industry is growing and it has a huge impact on our lives, there has been a dispute over humans deriving into one stereotype. I believe that we are following the same standard for body image or behaviours is such a problematic effect. Firstly, the advertisement sets up a beauty standard for the public. Celebrities appearances repeatedly showing up on TV might epitomize that standard. For example, Regarding the female images, the most common physical attributes are flawless, breathtaking and usually thin. Along with women, men in all movies are often sculptured, rigid, and perfectly muscular. As a result, people feel belittled if falling out of the stereotype's category and try pursuing the standard that was promoted instead of embracing their own. In addition, Advertisements on public media might also shape our shopping behaviours. According to psychological experts, people might buy a product not based on their own needs but rather on a social phenomenon. The profit-driven organizations could start a new trend by simply increasing the frequency of their advertisement on social media, TV or press, which then strikes us with the fear of missing out on any new trend. For example, One notorious case is that the cosmetics industry is long criticized for its marketing strategies in encouraging women to follow a full of unnecessary products, lengthy skincare routine. In conclusion, Advertising should embrace diversity and uniqueness in all life aspects. It is morally wrong when in the attempt of making profits, advertising leads people into a certain perspective. The dire consequences could happen in the long term.